Resources

DE CCDW

As of 11/17/2025, Delaware residents seeking to purchase or receive any firearm classified as a handgun are required to possess either a valid Delaware Handgun Qualified Purchaser Permit or valid Conceal Carry Deadly Weapons permit in order to complete the transaction.

Per Delaware law 11 Del C. § 1448D, CCDW permit holders are not required to obtain a Handgun Qualified Purchaser Permit before being permitted to purchase handguns in Delaware. In addition, CCDW permit holders are exempt from the Delaware law restricting magazine capacity to 17 rounds for all guns, pistol and rifle. For these reasons it is worth considering the additional effort required to obtain your CCDW permit. CCDW permits are valid for 3 years at first, and 5 years for each subsequent renewal.

The requirements for obtaining a Concealed Carry Deadly Weapons permit are;

#1 Publish a notice of your intent to obtain a CCDW permit in a newspaper with general circulation in your county (List).

Many papers offer a streamlined pre-filled notice you are able to arrange via their website. This step must be completed at least 10 business days prior to your application being filed.

#2 Have your fingerprints processed by Identigo services (Link)

using one of the following codes, based on your county: 27S7Q4 for New Caste County, 27RV9F for Kent County, 27S7RK for Sussex County. Be sure to save the receipt from your payment, as you will need to include a copy with your application. If you have been a Delaware resident for less than 5 years, you will also need to obtain a certified driving record from your previous state(s) of residence to avoid delays. This step must be completed within 45 days of the date of your final application submission.

#3 Collect 5 Reference Questionnaires (Link)

from citizens living in the same county as you, who are not related to or live with you, and who you have known for at least a year.

#4 Prepare two color 2” x 2” passport photographs, from a service location such as AAA.

The photographs must have been taken within 6 months before your application is filed.

#5 Prepare cash, a check or money order in the amount of $65, made out to “Prothonotary”.

#6 Attend an approved gun course (Link)

and receive your certificate of completion. While this step may technically be completed after your application is approved, it is recommended that you complete it in advance and include the certificate with your final application to reduce the chance for delays.

#7 Prepare one original and one duplicate copy of your application, along with originals and duplicates of all required certificates and receipts

Both must be filed at the same time with the Prothonotary in the county in which you reside. Each copy must be notarized for it to be accepted; The Prothonotary is able to do this for you at the time of your submission, along with reviewing your completed application and identifying any potential problems. Once the application is submitted, expect a wait time of several months before it is processed. You will not receive any phone or email correspondence once your permit is approved, so keep an eye on your mail to ensure you don’t miss it!

–Once you have completed and received either the Handgun Qualified Purchaser permit or the Concealed Carry Deadly Weapons permit, you are entitled to buy and receive handguns in Delaware. There are no limits to the numbers or types of handguns you are able to purchase. Be sure to keep track of the expiration date, and ensure it does not expire!